Insight: Salt Lake City Hardcore Unit “Take it Back” on Return Track/Music Video (PREMIERE)

If you were into hardcore in the '90s, you know that Salt Lake City's scene was one of the strongest in North America. One of the earliest bands to come out of that community was Insight. Formed in the late '80s, the group was one of the first acts to become part of the Victory Records roster, releasing their out-of-print EP, What Will It Take?, in 1990. 

Though they broke up in the early '90s, Insight's members went on to play in such bands as Jets to Brazil, Iceburn, and No Echo favorites, Handsome. 

Now, 30 years later, Insight is gearing up for the release of Reflection, a 19-track career spanning retrospective collection featuring 4 new, never before released songs. No Echo is honored to bring you the first taste of that new material in the form of "Take it Back," a searing track from the collection:

“'Reflection,' the title, definitely says it all,” laments vocalist Mark Starr. “This album is a retrospect and a reflection to the history of Insight. 

"Most of those songs were written when we were teenagers back in the '80s and still have meaning for those who supported us back then.”

In addition to the previously unheard studio tracks, the collection also features the original Victory Records EP, hard-to-find compilation tracks, and a 1989 live set from New Jersey while on tour supporting Social Distortion.

“With our new songs I hope it’s clear about how we feel about the current administration. I am very opposed to what is happening with our government but it’s safe to say most have felt that way for years. I also encourage living a meat-free, cruelty-free, lifestyle,” adds Starr.

On the new tracks, guitarist James Holder admits, "The band reworked the music and decided to write lyrics that seemed relevant to what's happening around us today. We want people to know how important it was for us to return as the exact same band members as 1989. We’ve remained friends for 30 years and still play music together.” 

Photo from Insight's Facebook page

Insight is rounded out by drummer Joseph ‘Chubba’ Smith, Doug Wright on bass, and Jeremy Chatelain on guitar.

Reflection will be out on July 31 via Mission Two Entertainment. Pre-orders are available today and feature limited edition vinyl (variants), t-shirt, longsleeves, hoodies, shorts and more.

Reflection track listing:
Standing Strong
Walk Away
Identity Crisis
End The Cruelty
Get It
Silent Shore
Take It Back
Lost In My Pride
Walk Away (Live)
End The Cruelty (Live)
Standing Strong (Live)
Enough (Live)
Identity Crisis (Live)
Control (Live)
Tied Down (Live)

Tracks 1-6: Originally from the 1990 release of the What Will It Take 7”. 
Track 7: Previously released on the Voice of Thousands compilation in 1990.
Track 8: Previously released on the Only the Strong compilation in 1990.
Tracks 9-12: Brand new, never before released music.
Tracks 13-19: Recorded live in August 1989 at City Gardens, Trenton, New Jersey

Here are the vinyl variants:
150 x A/B Side Apple Red & Black
150 x Canary Yellow (Rev HQ exclusive)
150 x Opaque Gold (Coretex exclusive)
400 x Solid Canary Yellow with Blue Jay Splatters
950 x Solid Apple Red


Donate a few bucks to help with No Echo's operating costs:



Tagged: handsome, iceburn, insight, jets to brazil