Berthold City: California Hardcore Band Returns With First Taste of Debut Album (PREMIERE)

Photo: Greg Flack

Personally speaking, Berthold City's forthcoming debut album is one of this year's hardcore releases I've been most looking forward to.

If you aren't familiar with the California band yet, Berthold City features musicians with discography credits in such bands as Strife, Abrasion, and Internal Affairs, and their style is a potent elixir of breakneck tempos, tension-building breakdowns, and rousing lyrical sections that stick in your head after the first listen.

Formed in 2017, Berthold City has released two EPs, a few standalone and compilation tracks, but they're finally gearing up to release their debut album, When Words Are Not Enough. Produced, engineered, and mixed by Nick Jett (Terror, Piece By Piece), the 12-track affair features a guest vocal appearance by Jason Mazzola (Count Me Out).

Today, I'm excited to premiere "With This Regret," the blitzing closing track from When Words Are Not Enough. Peep the mosh tease at the end:

Berthold City vocalist Andrew Kline said the following about the track's lyrics:

"This song is about the realization that there is no second chance when it comes to your life, and that we should live so that we have no regrets when we die. It's so easy to lose focus of what is really important, and that is finding what makes you happy and what makes your life worth living."

When Words Are Not Enough will be out March 18th via WAR Records (pre-orders are live). The album will be available digitally, on CD, and on multiple vinyl variants: 

  • 25 test presses
  • 100 Glow in the Dark with Japanese OBI Strip (WAR Records Exclusive)
  • 200 Orange Splatter (WAR Records Exclusive)
  • 200 Green in Ultra Clear (Merchpit Exclusive)
  • 200 Gold (Coretex/Programme exclusive)
  • 300 Tricolor Swirl (RevHQ exclusive).

Berthold City on social media: FacebookInstagram 


Help Support What No Echo Does via Patreon:

Become a Patron!


Tagged: abrasion, berthold city, strife, world be free