Song of the Day

NonCon, “These Three Words,” from NonCon (Irish Voodoo Records, 2017)

NonCon was originally formed in 1984 a teenaged guitarist named Mikael Romano. The Los Angeles area band broke up soon after, but was resurrected in 2012 by Romano and downset. bassist James Morris. Now featuring former Bloodcum vocalist Joey Fuchs (then going under the stage name "Joey Hanneman"), NonCom's new self-titled album is a fun collection of skateboard-ready punk rock that delivers plenty of memorable hooks.

Packed with anthemic guitar riffs and a driving backbeat that hardly lets up, "These Three Words" is a highlight from the album. On the cut, Fuch's vocals are clear and commanding, while drummer Chris Avilla (Public Nuisance) keeps the pace cooking. On the bass front, Morris' clangy tone cuts through the mayhem, adding a tinge more of melody to the affair. 

Head on over to RevHQ to pick up NonCon on CD, and if you prefer a digital download, Bandcamp has the hook up.

Tagged: downset, noncon